Lynn Selected to First Team

Lynn Selected to First Team

Photography by Pete Galarneau, Jr.

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. -- Concord's Joey Miller has been named Mountain East Conference Player of the Year, Shepherd's Paul Hvozdovic is the Pitcher of the Year, Rams skipper Matt McCarty is the Coach of the Year and West Virginia State's Tyler Hall is the Freshman of the Year, the league announced today.

Miller, a senior first baseman from Hagerstown, Md., led the Mountain East Conference in home runs (12), RBI (68), doubles (12) and total bases (117) while also batting .395. He leads the country in RBI and is 12th in home runs. Miller was the MEC Player of the Week three times this season, and was the NCBWA Hitter of the Week on two occasions. His 12 home runs rank 12th in the NCAA. 

Hvozdovic, a senior starter from Herndon, Va., posted a perfect 10-0 record during the regular season with a 1.42 ERA. His 87 strikeouts were the most in the MEC, and his strikeout-to-walk ratio of 17.41 is best in the country. In addition, he ranks in the top 10 nationally in complete games (8), victories (10), WHIP (0.82) and walks allowed per nine innings. 

Miller and Hvozdovic were each first team All-MEC.

Hall, a freshman pitcher from Charleston, W.Va., posted a 7-2 record with a 2.76 ERA in his first collegiate season for the Yellow Jackets. His 2.76 ERA was fourth-lowest in the MEC. Opponents hit .258 against him and he only allowed seven extra-base hits on the year. He was named to the All-MEC second team.

In his fourth season at Shepherd, McCarty directed the squad to a 37-10 overall record and the inaugural Mountain East Conference regular season championship after posting a 35-7 mark in MEC play. Shepherd is ranked first in the most recent NCAA Atlantic Region rankings, and the Rams cracked the NCBWA Top 25 earlier this week. 

In addition to the top honors, the league also announced its 2014 All-MEC teams. Regular season champion Shepherd had four players earn first team honors, as did runner-up Concord. West Virginia State and Notre Dame each were represented by a pair of players, and Urbana, UVa-Wise, West Liberty and West Virginia Wesleyan had one representative on the first team.

Four players from Urbana earned second team honors. The rest of the second team is comprised of three players each from Shepherd and West Virginia State, two from Concord, and single selections from Notre Dame, West Liberty and West Virginia Wesleyan.

The All-MEC teams are selected by a vote of the league's coaches. 

All-MEC First Team
Pos. Name School
C Spencer Wolfe Shepherd
1B Joey Miller Concord
2B Jacob Carney Shepherd
SS D.J. Busby West Liberty
3B Mike McCollum UVa-Wise
Utility Corey Lynn West Virginia Wesleyan
OF Bret Blevins Concord
OF Jack Hudson West Virginia State
OF Michael Lott Shepherd
OF Matt Paculan Urbana
DH Joe Camp Concord
SP Paul Hvozdovic Shepherd
SP Matt Kastelic Notre Dame
SP Ryan Weatherholtz Concord
SP Jake Welch Notre Dame
RP Joshua Falbo West Virginia State
All-MEC Second Team
Pos. Name School
C Tyler Payne West Virginia State
1B Keifer Quick Notre Dame College
2B Jerrod Groves Concord
SS Cody Ridinger Urbana
3B Ryan Johnston Concord
Utility Roman Gammell Urbana
OF John Koon West Virginia Wesleyan
OF Kyle Porter Shepherd
OF Jose Vargas Urbana
OF Matt Wilson Shepherd
DH Ryan Messina Shepherd
SP Nick Bozman Urbana
SP Tyler Hall West Virginia State
SP Mark Smyth West Liberty
SP Tyler Thompson West Virginia State
RP Corey Lakatos Charleston
All-MEC Honorable Mention
C Zach Gunter Charleston
1B Bill Steven UVa-Wise
2B Eric Craft West Virginia State
SS Brad Sullivan Concord
Utility Anthony Brunetti Charleston
OF Jon-Michael Brunner West Liberty
OF Robbie Collin Charleston
OF Ryan Foster Charleston
OF Andrew Seigel Concord
DH Ryan Sanders Notre Dame College
SP Tyler Coyle Concord
SP Jamie Driver Shepherd
SP Chris Kelly Concord
SP Ryan Pansch Shepherd
RP Nick Mayle Fairmont State
Player Of The Year: Joey Miller (Concord)
Pitcher Of The Year: Paul Hvozdovic (Shepherd)
Freshman Of The Year: Tyler Hall (West Virginia State)
Coach Of The Year: Matt McCarty (Shepherd)