Thompson Selected to First Team All-MEC

Thompson Selected to First Team All-MEC
BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. -- Cedric Harris of West Liberty has been named Mountain East Conference Player of the Year, Thomas Wimbush of Fairmont State the Freshman of the Year and Jim Crutchfield of West Liberty and Dwaine Osborne of Charleston shared Coach of the Year honors.

Harris, a senior guard from Zanesville, Ohio, led the Hilltoppers to a 24-2 record and the MEC regular season title. Harris directs the nation's most prolific offense leading the team with 17.8 points per game and 5.7 assists. He leads the MEC in assists, steals and assist/turnover ratio and is sixth in the league in scoring. 

Wimbush, a 6-7 swingman from Lorain, Ohio, leads all freshmen in the MEC with 14.6 points per game for the Falcons. He ranks 13th in the league in rebounds (6.0) and 11th in field goal percentage (54.4). He scored over 20 points eight times this season, including a career-best 25 points against No. 2 Bellarmine earlier this season. He was also a second team All-MEC selection.

Crutchfield and Osborne share Coach of the Year honors after leading their teams to the top of the MEC standings. Crutchfield's Hilltoppers spent the majority of the season ranked No. 1 in the country and won the conference regular season championship. Osborne, who took over at UC in early August, guided the Golden Eagles to a runner-up finish in the MEC after UC was picked to finish sixth in the preseason poll. 

In addition to the individual winners, the league also announced its All-MEC team. Eleven of the league's 12 teams were represented on the two All-MEC teams plus honorable mention. Fairmont State and Shepherd each had three players honored, while Charleston, Glenville State, Notre Dame, West Liberty and Wheeling Jesuit each had two. 

The All-MEC teams and individual award winners are selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

The MEC Tournament presented by GoMart gets underway this evening with first round games. Visit the Tournament Central page for more information.

2013-14 Men's Basketball All-MEC Teams
Photo Gallery
First Team
Name School Pos. Ht. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Deon Boyce UVa-Wise F 6-6 Sr. Pittsburgh, Pa./Davidson County CC
Lawrence DeArmond Notre Dame G 6-1 Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio/Winton Woods
Cedric Harris West Liberty 6-0 175 Sr. Zanesville, Ohio/Wheeling Jesuit
Xavier Humphrey Charleston F 6-6 Sr. Wake Forest, N.C./Marshall
Lamar Mallory Glenville State F 6-7 Sr. Dayton, Ohio
Brantley Osborne Shepherd G 6-3 190 Sunbury, Pa./Shikellamy
Eric Siefert Wheeling Jesuit G 6-4 195 Reynoldsburg, Ohio/Bishop Hartley
T.J. Thompson WV Wesleyan G/F 6-5 200 Kingwood, W.Va./Preston County
Second Team
Name School Pos. Ht. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Stevie Browning Fairmont State G 6-3 So. Logan, W.Va./Logan
Brendan Cooper Fairmont State F 6-7 Sr. Parma, Ohio/Lakeland CC
Tyree Gaiter Notre Dame G 5-7 So. Cleveland Hts., Ohio/Cleveland Hts.
C.J. Hester West Liberty G 6-4 Jr. West Mifflin, Pa./West Mifflin
Aleksander Kesic Charleston F 6-6 So. Belgrade, Serbia/Iona
Bo King WV State G 6-0 Sr. Charleston, W.Va./Presbyterian
Donte Morales Glenville State G 6-7 Sr. Virginia Beach, Fla.
Thomas Wimbush Fairmont State G/F 6-7 Fr. Lorain, Ohio/Lorain
Honorable Mention
Name School Pos. Ht. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Mike Boyd Concord G 6-0 Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio/Lakota East
Austin Cunningham Shepherd G 6-2 Jr. Vincent, Ohio/Ohio Valley
Justin Fritts Wheeling Jesuit G 6-1 So. Mentor, Ohio/Mentor
Morgan McDonald Shepherd F 6-6 Jr. Inwood, W.Va./Musselman