McGrew Earns MEC First-Team Basketball Honors

McGrew Earns MEC First-Team Basketball Honors

BRIDGEPORT -- West Liberty's Seger Bonifant is the 2015 Mountain East Conference Player of the Year, Wheeling Jesuit's Pat Moseh is the Freshman of the Year, and Concord's Kent McBride is the league's Coach of the Year.

Bonifant, a junior from Berlin, Ohio, helped lead WLU to a second-straight MEC regular season title by averaging a league-best 24.1 points per game. He is sixth in the country in scoring, and leads the nation in three-point field goal percentage knocking down 53 percent of his shots from behind the arc while making 3.9 threes per game. He's reached double figures in scoring in all 27 games this season for the fourth-ranked Hilltoppers.

Moseh, a freshman from Springfield, Va., led all MEC freshmen in scoring averaging 13.7 points per game to go with five rebounds per game for the Cardinals. He finished the season strong for WJU scoring in double figures in nine of his last 10 games and averaging 17.3 points during that stretch. 

Picked to finish 10th in the MEC preseason poll, McBride guided Concord to a 20-8 record and a third-place finish in the Mountain East Conference in 2015. The 20 wins this season are the most in his four years as the Mountain Lions head coach, and the first 20-win season at CU in over a decade.

In addition to the individual awards, the league also announced 2014-15 all-conference teams. Joining Bonifant on the first team were repeat selections Eric Siefert (Wheeling Jesuit) and Lawrence DeArmond (Notre Dame). Concord's Mike Boyd and Aaron Miller, along with Nick Harney (Fairmont State), Tanner McGrew (West Virginia Wesleyan) and Donte Morales (Glenville State) also earned first team recognition.

WLU's C.J. Hester and Devin Hoehn and Charleston's Chris Evans and Jevonte Hughes were second team honorees, along with Justin Fritts (Wheeling Jesuit), Tyree Gaiter (Notre Dame), Markee Mazyck (West Virginia State) and Jamel Morris (Fairmont State).

The All-MEC teams are selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

2015 All-MEC First Team
Name School Cl. Pos. Ht. Hometown
Seger Bonifant West Liberty Jr. F 6-7 Berlin, Ohio
Mike Boyd Concord Sr. G 6-0 Cincinnati, Ohio
Lawrence DeArmond Notre Dame Sr. G/F 6-1 Cincinnati, Ohio
Nick Harney Fairmont State Sr. F 6-8 Cleveland, Ohio
Tanner McGrew W.Va. Wesleyan Sr. F 6-8 Buckhannon, W.Va.
Aaron Miller Concord So. G 6-1 Stephens City, Va.
Donte Morales Glenville State Sr. G 6-5 Virginia Beach, Va.
Eric Siefert Wheeling Jesuit Jr. G 6-4 Reynoldsburg, Ohio
2015 All-MEC Second Team
Name School Cl. Pos. Ht. Hometown
Chris Evans Charleston Sr. G 6-3 Stamford, Conn.
Justin Fritts Wheeling Jesuit Jr. G 6-1 Mentor, Ohio
Tyree Gaiter  Notre Dame Jr. G 5-7 Cleveland Heights, Ohio
C.J. Hester West Liberty Sr. F 6-4 West Mifflin, Pa.
Devin Hoehn West Liberty So. G 6-0 Parkersburg, W.Va.
Jevonte Hughes Charleston Jr. F 6-5 Kalamazoo, Mich.
Markee Mazyck W.Va. State Jr. F 6-6 Washington, D.C.
Jamel Morris Fairmont State Jr. G 6-4 Gahanna, Ohio
2015 All-MEC Honorable Mention
Name School Cl. Pos. Ht. Hometown
Austin Cunningham Shepherd Sr. G 6-2 Belpre, Ohio
Terry Hopewell Concord Jr. F 6-8 Columbus, Ohio
Morgan McDonald Shepherd Sr. F 6-6 Inwood, W.Va.
Reggie Williams Glenville State Sr. G 6-3 Virginia Beach, Va.
Thomas Wimbush Fairmont State So. F/G 6-7 Lorain, Ohio
Player of the Year: Seger Bonifant (West Liberty)    
Freshman of the Year: Pat Moseh (Wheeling Jesuit)
Coach of the Year: Kent McBride (Concord)