Bobcats Picked Eighth in MEC Preseason Basketball Poll

Bobcats Picked Eighth in MEC Preseason Basketball Poll
BRIDGEPORT -- West Liberty has been picked to win its third-straight Mountain East Conference men's basketball title after a vote conducted by the league's coaches.

The Hilltoppers, who will enter the season ranked No. 3 in the country by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), garnered 10 of 12 first-place votes after finishing 28-4 last season. WLU returns senior Seger Bonifant, the 2015 MEC Player of the Year and a consensus All-American, who averaged 22.8 points per game and made 52 percent of his shots from behind the arc a season ago to help lead WLU to its third-straight NCAA Atlantic Region championship game appearance. West Liberty also returns All-MEC second team selection Devin Hoehn. 

Fairmont State was picked to finish second with 106 points, followed by Wheeling Jesuit in third with 97 points and one first-place vote. WJU brings back the 2015 MEC Freshman of the Year Pat Moseh, along with All-MEC honorees Eric Siefert and Justin Fritts.

Concord, led by 2015 MEC Coach of the Year Kent McBride, was tabbed fourth with 86 points, just ahead of Charleston in fifth with 83 points. Glenville State, last year's MEC Tournament champion, was picked sixth (77), followed by Notre Dame in seventh (54). The Falcons had the remaining first-place vote.

West Virginia Wesleyan (52), Shepherd (47), West Virginia State (36), Urbana (22) and UVa-Wise (12) round out the poll.

The poll was released on Tuesday at the Mountain East Conference Media Day at the Bridgeport Conference Center.

The men's basketball season begins on Friday, Nov. 13

Mountain East Conference
Men's Basketball Preseason Poll
Rk. Team Points
1. West Liberty (10) 120
2. Fairmont State 106
3. Wheeling Jesuit (1) 97
4. Concord 86
5. Charleston 83
6. Glenville State 77
7. Notre Dame (1) 54
8. West Virginia Wesleyan 52
9. Shepherd 47
10. West Virginia State 36
11. Urbana 22
12. UVa-Wise


() denotes first-place votes













2014-15 All-MEC Players Returning
Seger Bonifant (WLU) -- All-MEC First Team, MEC Player of the Year
Tanner McGrew (WVWC) -- All-MEC First Team
Aaron Miller (CU) -- All-MEC First Team
Eric Siefert (WJU) -- All-MEC First Team
Justin Fritts (WJU) -- All-MEC Second Team
Tyree Gaiter (NDC) -- All-MEC Second Team
Devin Hoehn (WLU) -- All-MEC Second Team
Jevonte Hughes (UC) -- All-MEC Second Team
Markee Mazyck (WVSU) -- All-MEC Second Team
Jamel Morris (FSU) -- All-MEC Second Team
Terry Hopewell (CU) -- All-MEC Honorable Mention
Thomas Wimbush (FSU) -- All-MEC Honorable Mention
Pat Moseh (WJU) -- MEC Freshman of the Year