Bobcats Land Four on All-MEC Men's Tennis Team

Bobcats Land Four on All-MEC Men's Tennis Team


BRIDGEPORT -- The University of Charleston earned two of the top men's tennis awards in the Mountain East Conference this year with Alec Foote earning Player of the Year honors and teammate Ivan Rajevac claiming Freshman of the Year accolades. Fairmont State's Kyle Hoffman was named the league's Coach of the Year. 

Foote, a junior from Manchester, England, played in the top spot for the University of Charleston and helped the Golden Eagles to a share of the MEC regular season title. He went unbeaten in league play (7-0) in singles and posted a 6-1 record at No. 1 doubles.

Rajevac, a native of Dubronvnik, Croatia, earned Freshman of the Year honors after posting a 4-2 record in the MEC at No. 3 singles this year for UC. He also played six matches in conference play at No. 1 doubles and went 5-1 teaming with Foote. Rajevac was also a second team All-MEC selection.

In his first season at Fairmont State, Hoffman helped the Falcons to eight wins -- the most for the program in over a decade. FSU also won three matches in MEC play and earned the No. 5 seed in the conference tournament.

In addition to the award winners, the league also announced the all-conference teams. The three co-champions had six of the eight members in the first team led by three from West Virginia Wesleyan (Jacobo Rendon, Ramon Rodriguez and Nathan Sabate), and two each from Charleston (Foote, James Gammell) and West Liberty (Santiago Gutierrez and Baptiste Perrin). Fairmont State's Micah Hornak and UVa-Wise's Vlad Akimenko also earned a first team nod. 

The second team consists of Rajevac, Ferran Berga (WVWC), Grant Davis (SU), Oleg Kopychenko (UVa-Wise), Martin Moncayo (West Liberty), Andrew Ponder (West Liberty) and Andrii Rutnytskyi (UVa-Wise).

The All-MEC teams and awards are selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

2015-16 All-MEC First Team
Name School Cl. Hometown
Vlad Akimenko UVa-Wise Sr. Donetsk, Ukraine
Alec Foote Charleston Jr. Manchester, England
James Gammell Charleston Sr. Chesham, England
Santiago Gutierrez West Liberty Jr. Barranquilla, Colombia
Micah Hornak Fairmont State Sr. Morgantown, W.Va.
Baptiste Perrin West Liberty Jr. Rognes, France
Jacobo Rendon W.Va. Wesleyan So. Guayaquil, Ecuador
Ramon Rodriguez W.Va. Wesleyan So. Porlamar, Venezuela
Nathan Sabate W.Va. Wesleyan Jr. Lleida, Spain
2015-16 All-MEC Second Team
Name School Cl. Hometown
Ferran Berga W.Va. Wesleyan So. Barcelona, Spain
Grant Davis Shepherd Jr. Harpers Ferry, W.Va.
Oleg Kopychenko UVa-Wise Sr. Simferopol, Ukraine
Martin Moncayo West Liberty Sr. Quito, Ecuador
Andrew Ponder West Liberty Jr. Lincoln, England
Ivan Rajevac Charleston Fr. Dubrovnik, Croatia
Andrii Rutnytskyi UVa-Wise So. Odessa, Ukraine
Player of the Year: Alec Foote (Charleston)
Freshman of the Year: Ivan Rajevac (Charleston)
Coach of the Year: Kyle Hoffman (Fairmont State)


Photo ID: L-R Ramon Rodriguez, Nathan Sabate, Ferran Berga and Jacobo Rendon