Wesleyan Falls to West Liberty In MEC Championship, 5-2

Wesleyan Falls to West Liberty In MEC Championship, 5-2

CHARLESTON -- West Liberty came out on top in three tightly contested doubles matches, and used that edge to complete a 5-2 win over West Virginia Wesleyan to win the 2016 MEC Men's Tennis Tournament championship.

The duo of Baptiste Perrin and Santiago Gutierrez edged WVWC's Nathan Sabate and Ferran Berga at No. 1 doubles, 8-6. Andrew Ponder and Matt Tully won a tough match at No. 2 doubles, 9-7, and Pablo Cimorra and Martin Moncayo won in a tiebreaker, 9-8 (4), at No. 3 doubles.

Pedro Nassar won in straight sets at No. 6 singles, 6-1, 6-2, to put the Bobcats on the board, and Berga added a straight-set win at No. 4 singles. Gutierrez picked up a win at No. 2 singles for the Hilltoppers, and Perrin closed out the championship at No. 1 singles despite losing the first set, 4-6, 6-2, 6-4.

The Hilltoppers successfully defender their championship from last year and earn an automatic berth into this year's NCAA Tournament.  

#2 West Liberty 5, #1 West Virginia Wesleyan 2

#1 Perrin/Gutierrez (WL) Def. Berga/Sabate (WVWC), 8-6
#2 Ponder/Tully (WL) Def. Rodriguez/Nassar (WVWC), 9-7
#3 Cimorra/Moncayo (WL) Def. Rendon/Fernandez (WVWC), 9-8 (4)

#1 Baptiste Perrin (WL) Def Nathan Sabate (WVWC), 4-6, 6-2, 6-4
#2 Santiago Gutierrez (WL) Def Jacobo Rendon (WVWC), 6-0, 6-4
#4 Ferran Berga (WVWC) Def Martin Moncayo (WL), 6-3, 6-2
#6 Pedro Nassar (WVWC) Def  Luke Flanagan (WL), 6-1, 6-2