Men's Track Team Earns Fourth Straight MEC Championship

Men's Track Team Earns Fourth Straight MEC Championship

BUCKHANNON – The West Virginia Wesleyan men's track and field squad led pretty much from start to finish in the three-day Mountain East Conference Track and Field Championships held at Ross Field.

Wesleyan piled up 212 points for their fourth straight MEC Championship.

Charleston was a distant second with 154 points while Concord was third with 135 and Wheeling Jesuit was fourth with 114 points in the seven-team field.

West Virginia Wesleyan's Dylon Rippeto was selected as the league's Field Athlete of the Year. Rippeto won the discus and shot put, and was fifth in the hammer over the weekend.

In Sunday's action, Matt Dearth was victorious in the 5000-meter run with a time of 15:22.71.

Nate Moore also picked up a win in the 110-meter hurdles with a time of 14.61.

Teammate Niles Dailey was right behind in second place with a time of 14.70 and Daniel Plaugher was fourth clocking a time of 14.81.

In the 100-meter dash, Jacob Ortiz placed sixth (11.19) while Tavaris Anderson was seventh (11.29).

Moving up to the 800 meters, Craig Westfall placed sixth with a time of 1:59.07 while Chad Longanacre took eighth with a clocking of 1:59.62.

In the 1500-meter run, Longanacre was fifth (4:09.69), Ian Frailey was seventh (4:13.29) and Austin Hayes was eighth (4:15.21).

In the 400-meter hurdles Alan Crise was fifth (56.81) and Austin Gresser was seventh (58.74).

In the two relay races, the 4 x100-meter relay foursome of Michael Anderson, Ortiz, Marcus Lofton and Tavaris Anderson placed fifth with a time of 43.06 while the 4 x 400-mter relay quartet of Tim Aloi, Isaiah Robinson, Cole Vaughn and Westfall was sixth with a time of 3:32.29.

Wesleyan will take select members of the track and field teams to the Allegheny Gator Invite this Friday.

MVP/High Point: Jonathan Gore (CU)
Track Athlete of the Year: Zack Marcum (UC)
Field Athlete of the Year: Dylon Rippeto (WVWC)
Freshman of the Year: Christian Strozier (NDC)
Coach of the Year: Mike Cox (CU)