XC 'Cats Win MEC Championship; Whitacre Takes First

XC 'Cats Win MEC Championship; Whitacre Takes First

PIPESTEM, W.Va. -- West Virginia Wesleyan edged Wheeling Jesuit to claim the 2014 Mountain East Conference Men's Cross Country Championship on Saturday at Pipestem State Park.

The Bobcats totaled 43 points, compared to 47 for the Cardinals. UVa-Wise was third with 107 points, followed by Concord (108), West Liberty (128), Notre Dame (145), Charleston (155), Fairmont State (179) and Urbana (255).

West Virginia Wesleyan's Nathan Whitacre surged midway through the 8,000-meter course on his way to the individual championship and MEC Runner of the Year honors with a time of 26:53. Brody Born and Matt Dearth also earned first team All-MEC honors by finishing fourht and fifth, respectively for the Bobcats.

Concord's Stephen Starliper finished second, followed by Wheeling Jesuit's Colin Radabaugh who earned MEC Freshman of the Year honors. UVa-Wise had a pair of first team honorees in Shaquon Wilkins (sixth) and William Young (ninth). Charleston's Keith Charette took seventh place, WJU's Albert Schrimp was eighth and Notre Dame's Machus Hunter was 10th to earn first team All-MEC honors.

WVWC head coach Jesse Skiles was named Mountain East Conference Coach of the Year.

All-Mountain East Conference First Team
Place Name (School) Time
1. Nathan Whitacre (WVWC) 26:53
2. Stephen Starliper (CU) 27:18
3. Colin Radabaugh (WJU) 27:40
4. Brody Born (WVWC) 27:42
5. Matt Dearth (WVWC) 27:45
6. Shaquon Wilkins (UVa-Wise) 27:49
7. Keith Charette (UC) 27:49
8. Albert Schrimp (WJU) 27:53
9. William Young (UVa-Wise) 27:57
10. Machus Hunter (NDC) 28:01


All-Mountain East Conference Second Team
Place Name (School) Time
11. Joe Molek (WJU) 28:02
12. Matt Riffle (WJU) 28:06
13. Chris Estrada (WJU) 28:13
14. Andrew Lowery (WLU) 28:18
15. Nate King (FSU) 28:19
16. Chad Longanacre (WVWC)
17. Aaron Estep (WVWC) 28:28
18. Anthony Wallis (UVa-Wise) 28:28
19. Noah Lake (NDC) 28:29
20. Patrick Stanton (WJU) 28:35


Runner of the Year: Nathan Whitacre (WVWC)
Freshman of the Year: Colin Radabaugh (WJU)
Coach of the Year: Jesse Skiles (WVWC)